2015 Div 4C League

Round 1 O’Raghallaighs v DYI, 4-05-15 Throw in at 6:30pm.

Result: O’Raghallaighs 1:14 to 5;07 DYI (win)

The Junior teams recorded an open day Div 4C league win against the O’Raghallaighs GFC in Darver on Saturday 4th of April. After a slow first half which the O’Raghallaighs dominated and which ended 1:01 to 1:12. In the second half the Irelanders skill and fitness level came to the front resulting in a fully deserved win.

Round 2: DYI v Glyde Rangers

Result: DYI 3;11 to 1;07 Glyde Rangers (win)

 Round 3 Na Pairsiagh v DYI

Result: Na Piarsaigh 2:06 to DYI 2:16. (win)

Round 4 DYI v Glen Emmets (Home)

Result: DYI 0:09 to Glen Emmets 2:18. (Loss)

Round 5 O’Connells v DYI Tuesday 5th May 7:15pm Away

Result: O’Connells 1:13 to DYI 2:13 (win).

Team: Aaron Conway, Colin Farrell, Peter McCourt, Ian Campbell (0:01), Robbie Farrell, Alan Hanks, Kaylan Conway, Cian O’Naraigh, Alan Haughey (0:10), Conor Nixon (1:01), Ryan Malone, Jordan O’Donoghue, Stephen Lally (1:0), Tom Rogers, Brian O’Hagan, Subs Shane O’Connell, Mickey Mone.

Round 6 DYI vs Naomh Malachi Tuesday 12th May 7:30pm Home

DYI 2:07 to 2:08 Naomh Malachi. (Loss)

Round 7 Westerns v DYI Tuesday 19th May 8:00pm Away

Result: Westerns 2:08 to DYI 2:16 (Win)

Round 8 League Final O’Connell’s v DYI

Result: O’Connell’s 1-14, Young Irelands 1-6

O’Connell’s won the division 4c final in the Grove on Saturday evening by eight points but were made fight all the way to the final whistle by a gallant performance from the Irelanders. Stuart Reynolds landed the first point of the game from an excellent side line ball but that was quickly equalized by David Lally, a free from Brian O’Hagan a couple of minutes later put the visitors in front and they could have raised the green flag had it not been for a great save from the home keeper David Eager.

But it was short lived as the home team and Niall Conlon went on a mini scoring spree, Conlon landed the next three point’s one a free and with just over ten minutes gone on the clock a defence splitting ball from Reynolds found Conlon and he made no mistake blasting to the net. Dean Corrigan pointed to put the Bellingham side seven in front, but back came the men from the upper marshes and two points from Lally one a free added to their score line and but for some wayward shooting it could have been more.

Then the Irelanders were dealt a blow just before the half time whistle when Robbie Farrell received a second yellow card and they were down to 14 men for the rest of the game. Conlon added another free before the break to keep his team ahead at the interval 1-6 to 0-4. The Bellingham team were out of the blocks quickly at the start of the second half and got the first three points, two more from Conlon and another from Reynolds. Although a man down the Dundalk team had their fair share of possession and the sides shared the next two points, Stephen Lally for the Irelanders and Conor Culligan for the O’Connell’s.

Then a goal from substitute Mikey Shields when he got on the end of a long ball and flicked it to the net reduced the margin to five with ten minutes remaining. Conlon increased his teams lead to six with another score but a Jordan O’Donoghue point brought it back to five with the same amount of time on the clock. But that was the last score of the game for the Dundalk men, Conlon got another point to take his tally for the night to 1-8 and further points from Conor McGill and Reynolds sealed the victory for the Castlebellingham team. So O’Connell’s are the division 4C league champions but they were made fight all the way by the Young Irelands in a very entertaining match.

O’Connell’s: David Eager; David Neasy, Keith Woods, Micheal Cairns; David Hoey, Keith Ryan, Ciaran O’Brien; Sean Cairns, Conor McGill 0-1; Dean Corrigan 0-1, Niall Conlon 1-8(3f), Martin O’Mara; Stefan O’Hanrahan, Conor Culligan 0-1, Stuart Reynolds 0-3(1sl). Subs Cian Geeney for K. Woods, Jordan Bannon for S. O’Hanrahan, Brian Hanratty for C. Culligan.

Young Irelands: Aaron Conway; Alan Hanks, Peter McCourt, Ian Campbell; Jason Mulligan, Robbie Farrell, Ryan Malone; Derek Rogers, Alan Haughey; Stephen Lally 0-1, Conor Nixon, Brian O’Hagan 0-1(f); Cian Neary, Jordan O’Donoghue 0-1, David Lally 0-3(1f). Subs Mikey Shields 1-0 for C. Nixon, Sean Lavery for B. O’Hagan, Alan Minto for I. Campbell.

2B Championship

Round 1 DYI v Lannleire

Result DYI 2-11 to Lannleire 1-05

Round 2 St Nicolas v DYI, 30th August, 11am Away