2006 Presentation Night





BBC/TG4 analyst and Armaghs 1999 Ulster Championship winning captain Jarlath Burns was the Special Guest star at Dundalk Young Irelands Senior Presentation night in McGeoughs on Wednesday last.

Compère for the evening was Secretary Tony Hande, while also present were Louth Minor Board Chairman Tomás O hEochaidh and Secretary Gerry Connor who once again took time out from their busy schedules to facilitate the club.

Chairman Gerry Nixon welcomed all present and remarked that the club have very young adult teams at the moment and he is satisfied that the club is going in the right direction and success at adult level is not far off.

In his address, Minor Board Chairman, Tomás O hEochaidh thanked the club for the invitation and encouraged club members and parents to continue to support and develop Gaelic games. He praised the work Young Irelands members were doing with the Louth Development Squads and wished the club well in their endeavours.

Minor Board Secretary, Gerry Connor presented the 2005 Louth U-16 Division 1 League and Secondary Competition trophies to captains Craig McKenna and Peter Nixon and medals were also presented to the winning panel:
Kevin Keelan, Eoin Whearty, Sean Laverty, Paul McDonald, Niall Fergus, Peter Flynn, Cian Byrne, Barry Piper, Conor Nixon, Derek Maguire, Robbie Agnew, Colin Farrell, Shane Greene, Gavin Coleman, Daniel McLoughlin, David Lally, Sean Newberry, David Lennon, Joseph Flynn, Ciaran Murray and John McGahon.

In 2005, Young Irelands won their first Minor Championship at “B” level and Tomás O hEochaidh presented the cup and medals to the winning panel: Shane O’Connell (Capt), Cian Byrne, Robbie Agnew, Cian O’Naraigh, Peter Nixon, Peter Flynn, Chris McCormick, James Byrne, Barry Piper, Conor Nixon, Mark Savage, Derek Maguire, Michael Mone, Craig McKenna, Brian McCloskey, Stephen Coburn, Paul McDonald, Dermot Keelan, Shane Greene, Conor Burns, Kevin Keelan, Sean Laverty, Gavin Coleman, Niall Fergus, Conal McCourt, Colin Farrell, Colm Burns.

Jarlath Burns presented the 2005 club awards: Player of the Year U-15 Robbie Agnew, U-16 Derek Maguire, U-17 Chris McCormick, U-18 Shane O’Connell, Junior 2 David Bailey, Junior 1 Aaron Rogers and Club Person of Year John Laverty.

In recognition of the 70th Anniversary of Louth first All-Ireland Minor win in 1936, Young Irelands honoured their two surviving members, Leo Burns and Jim Cunningham. Unfortunately Jim was unable to attend the function. Pat Hamilton relayed Louths Minor campaign of 1936 before Leo graciously accepted his presentation from Club President Fr. John Mulligan S.M. to a standing ovation.

The formalities were rounded off by the Chairman congratulating the award winners and thanking Minor Board Officers and Jarlath Burns for taking time out to attend the function