2006 McArdle Cup Win

Dundalk Young Irelands 2-11 John Mitchels 2-03

Young Irelands were crowned winners of the Division 3 Junior I League on Thursday evening following victory over John Mitchels in their penultimate game of the season. There were jubilant scenes at Upper Marches as the countys oldest club were presented with the Macardle Cup which they last won in 1949.

This win was very comfortable for the League leaders playing against a lack lustre Mitchels outfit. Irelands dominated the first half leading 2-08 to 1-00 at the break. Minor player Mark Savage scored 2-01 for the home team in the half while fellow minor Derek Maguire scored 0-05. The U-18 strike force went on to account for all but 0-02 of the Irelands tally. Gerry Maguire got a goal for Mitchels on 21 minutes, their only score of the half.

Half-time Young Irelands 2-08 John Mitchels 1-00

Mitchels fought back in the 2nd half with a goal from Eddie Coyle and 3 pointed frees from Des Halpenny however the home team had a substantial cushion and ran out easy winners with Savage and Maguire adding further points.

After the game County Board Vice Chairman Jim Thornton presented the Macardle Cup to Young Irelands captain Aaron Rogers. After losing to St. Kevins in the first round of league games, Irelands went on to win 8 games in a row to capture the league. Judging on the years performances, the evidence would suggest that the club have plenty of young talent coming through to the adult ranks after making a big effort at juvenile level in recent years.

For Irelands Ryan Moran was outstanding at full-back while Shane O’Connell, Mark Savage and Derek Maguire were best up front. Gerry Maguire and Des Halpenny were best for a disappointing Mitchels. Due to the restructuring of leagues, Young Irelands lost out on promotion and remained in Junior I for 2007. 

Dundalk Young Irelands:
Kevin Keelan, Donal Duffy, Ryan Moran, Gerry Hanratty, Peter Nixon (0-1), Aaron Rogers, Robbie Farrell, Andrew Nixon, Gerard Nixon, Tom Rogers, Shane O’Connell (0-1), Cian O’Naraigh, David Bailey, Mark Savage (2-02), Derek Maguire (0-07)5f
Subs used: John Boland for Cian O’Naraigh, Sean Rafferty for Tom Rogers, John McArdle for David Bailey, Philip McArdle for Andrew Nixon

John Mitchels :
Des Halpenny 0-03(3f) Gerard Maguire 1-00 Eddie Coyle 1-00